revolution – (en)

REVOLUTION_Dugutigui
In my room the bed was here, the closet there and the table was in the middle.
Until this bored me. Then I put the bed there and the closet here.
For a while I felt chirpy by the novelty. But boredom eventually returned.
I came to the conclusion that the origin of my boredom was the table, or rather, its central and unchanging position.
I moved the table there and put the bed in the middle. The result was nonconformist.
The novelty cheered me again, and while it lasted I was conformable with the discomforting discomfort I had caused. As it happened I couldn’t sleep facing the wall, which had always been my favorite position.
But after a while the novelty ceased as such, and only discomfort lasted. So I put the bed here and the closet in the middle.
This time the change was radical. Since a closet in the middle of a room is more than nonconformist. It’s avant-garde.
REVOLUTION_0_Dugutigui
But after some time … Ah, if it were not for this “some time.” To be brief, the closet in the middle also stopped looking as something new and extraordinary.
It was necessary to conduct a rupture, to take a forthright decision. If within certain limits any real change can’t be achieved, then you have to transgress those limits. When nonconformity is not enough, when vanguard is ineffective, you have to make a revolution.
I decided to sleep in the closet. Anyone who has tried to sleep in a closet, standing, knows that such discomfort won’t allow you to sleep at all, not to mention the swelling of the feet and the spinal pain.
Yes, that was the right decision. A success, a total victory. As this time “some time” also proved impotent. After some time, because not only I didn’t get used to the change –I mean, the change was still a change–, but, on the contrary, I became increasingly aware of that change, as the pain increased as time passed.
So everything would have gone perfectly except for my physical resilience, which turned out to have its limits. One night I couldn’t take any more. I came out and got in bed.
I slept three days and nights in one sitting. Then I put the closet against the wall and the table in the middle, because the closet in the middle bothered me.
Now the bed is here again, the closet there and the table in the middle. And when boredom consumes me, I remember the days when I was a revolutionary.
.
Revolution – By S. Mrozek, pertaining to the book “Hard life”

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in English, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to revolution – (en)

  1. ilargia64 says:

    Genial!!! I love it!!!!🙂

  2. ~meredith says:

    Fantastic choice for sharing with us! Mr.Mrozek made me laugh this morning. I need to change my closet, now. Thank you for the great read! Meredith

Leave a Reply

