atheist vs believer – (en)

ATHEIST VS BELIEVER
Andrew, a staunch atheist, after passing away, came to a place with heavenly appearance, as a kind of living room amidst white clouds, where a man, dressed in white with a long beard of the same color, was sitting behind a large mahogany desk with a card holder that read “God”.
Andrew thought, Dammit, I was wrong, God exists … Yammer, I guess I’m really screwed now…!
“Welcome Andrew. This is your Judgment Day.”
“Hmpf … Yes … I thought so … by the way, I didn’t know you exist … I assume I’m doomed … aren’t I?”
“Yes, I exist, but why do you assume you are doomed?”
“Well … I guess ‘cause not believing in you. And not only that … lol, also discussed a lot about your inexistence with many believers. I had hundreds of arguments against you … and I also must admit that I convinced some to stop believing in you and leave their religions and churches.”
“Hmm … And what makes you think that because you don’t believe, I will condemn you?”
“Doh … well … that’s what everyone said, the Bible also says that those who don’t believe in you will go to Hell.”
“Look Andrew, you know very well that the Bible is not my word, aside from being a book with hundreds of thousands of errors. If you know that, just being a mortal, much better I know it being omniscient. You fought all your life to prevent this book of further harming the minds of those who believe in me. And so you avoided much suffering to many people by showing them what is false and wrong on that book they call the Bible. That I can’t consider it as a sin … rather it’s a virtue.”
“Then … you don’t think so bad that I’ve reneged of you?”
“Why would it seem wrong that a person uses reason to deny something? I admit that chances of my existence were minimal. You just used the reasoning ability that I gave you, your intelligence, to prove your thoughts were true. On the contrary, I must congratulate you for putting your reasoned sense and logic ahead of blind faith, which I hate.”
“Are you insinuating that I won’t go to Hell?”
“Not only that … I must reward your integrity. Also, thanks to you, reason expanded to many people, and I appreciate that. You kept many people from committing atrocities in my name. The truth is that you deserve paradise even more than any believer, since the good works you did were by your own will and your genuine concern for others, and not because I or a book ordered it to you. That’s temperance.”
“So may I go to Heaven?
“Be sure I’d never condemn someone for reasoning. Please come in. Be welcome.
Who would have said it … Wow! Andrew thought while going up.
Atheist Vs Believer
Cecil, a fervent believer who also just died, was waiting outside until invited to enter the room.
Wasn’t good I died praising God? Cecil thought, cometh at last the coveted paradise I’ve prepared myself the whole life … but, looking up, isn’t that one, going up to Heaven, Andrew, the atheist?
“Welcome Cecil. You are in the Final Judgment.” said God.
“Greetings my God … sorry to ask you but … isn’t Andrew this one going up the caracole?”
“He’s indeed Andrew.”
“But … Andrew is an atheist, why do you let him up, he should be frying in Hell!”
“Why shouldn’t I let him enter Heaven? I know Andrew, he is very good person.”
“Wait a minute God, forgive me … but the Bible says …”
“No! You wait just a minute! Andrew showed you many times that the Bible had hundreds of errors, distortions, contradictions, and inconsistencies. And do not lie to me, Cecil, remember that I know everything, and I know that deep down you knew what Andrew was saying about the Bible was true. Do you really think that book represents me?”
“Well yes, some biblical passages even seemed to me somehow contradictory … but the thing is I was defending you.”
“Do you really think I need to be defended?”
“Ehhh … well, eek …”
“Let’s start your Judgment.”
“Ok, okay … how do I go up …?”
“Wait, wait … what makes you think you deserve Heaven?”
“But God … don’t come now with …”
“I can see you were quite irrational, unwise, with very little reasoned sense. Okay, I admit that you did some good things, but only for fear of my punishment, and fear of going to the Hell. That doesn’t seem very commendable.”
“Ehhh … well …”
“You were also very sectarian, you discriminate people for their beliefs. And, of course, you made hundreds of thousands of rituals and prayers that don’t please me.”
“But God … the Bible says…”
“Do not put the Bible as an excuse! You and I know well that book doesn’t represent me.”
“But God …!”
“Nothing … you have no excuses! You should know very well that I am all perfection. And as a perfect being I praise reason and intelligence. If at least you had believed in me by reasoned and logical arguments … But you always seek refuge in that blind faith that I hate.”
“So … what would happen to me?” sobbing.
“I don’t see how to forgive you Cecil, with your way of thinking and your actions you did much evil, and filled those surrounding you with this perverse doctrine they fabricate in the Earth over me. You refused to use reason and logic and superseded them with faith and meaningless dogmas. I can not forgive you … you know what to expect, and I’m really sorry Cecil, because I wanted you in Heaven.”
“So … I’m going to … to …”
“Yes. You have to go there. I regret this result. Please leave.”
Cecil leaves the room crestfallen and heartbroken.
oo00OOO00oo
Later on, during a coffee break, St. Peter meets God.
“Much work today my Lord?”
“You can’t imagine! Too many “believers” of the type Bible, Bible! … just blind followers of a faith without reasoning. I should condemn them all without even trial … I know all their excuses.”
“I know Lord … I was also human. That is very common.”
“Sometimes I don’t understand why they don’t use the brain that I gave them to reason? What a waste of gray matter! Sure, it’s easy and convenient to follow an old book than thinking.”
“Indeed my Lord. By the way, they almost shit the pants believing they were going to Hell … hahahaha!!”
“See what I’m telling Peter? It’s amazing they know I am all love and all perfection, but still believe that I will send them to a place of eternal suffering. Who do they think I am?”
“That’s it my lord.”
“Well Peter, let’s go work! We don’t have all day …”
.
Atheist Vs Believer – Dugutigui on a tale from the Net
Happy new 2014 to all of you!!

.

Dugutigui - I Like This Post

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in Education, English, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to atheist vs believer – (en)

  1. puzzleblume says:

    Could work well in cinema!

    I like this post-liking giraffe. too.

    Happy New Year, Dugutigui🙂

    • Dugutigui says:

      The whole of life is just like watching a film. Only it’s as though you always get in ten minutes after the big picture has started, and no-one will tell you the plot, so you have to work it out all yourself from the clues.
      Thanks and the very same for you!

  2. Stefania says:

    Happy New Year!🙂

  3. Sharmishtha says:

    good one!🙂
    happy new year!

    • Dugutigui says:

      Thank you!!
      Even if there will be always something old in the New Year, the most glorious light is sweet hope!
      Same for you!! May the forces of evil become confused on the way to your house in this 2014!

  4. Happy New Year – all the best in 2014!

  5. El Guapo says:

    Yeah, that sounds about right…

    • Dugutigui says:

      For those who believe in God, most of the big questions are answered. But for those of us who can’t readily accept the God formula, the big answers don’t remain stone-written. We adjust to new conditions and discoveries. We are pliable.
      Thanks for your comment!

  6. pastiva says:

    Te he nominado para e Blog of 2013 the Year, es un honor para mi.

    • Dugutigui says:

      Vivo en la adulación descarada… y el vodka… [los dos por lo general van de la mano]. Te agradezco la nominación, pero por falta real de tiempo voy a cometer un pecado este día en que he de rehusarla —no es que haya descubierto ningún metal dentro de mí, donde mi corazón debería estar— perdóname sin embargo, Pastiva, por actuar sin principios🙂
      Gracias.

  7. chr1 says:

    Happy New Year!

  8. Really clever commentary. As I was reading, I was reminded of the Marxist thought: religion is the opiate of the masses–thinking: no wonder. The nuance is superb, and the argument sound.

    and that ain’t said “on faith”..! Happy New year, you awesome writer.🙂

    • Dugutigui says:

      Re writer, rather be ruined by praise than saved by criticism Hahahaha!
      To many people, I’m an atheist. To God, I’m the loyal opposition.
      Thanks for commenting!

  9. Well, as an atheist I approve heartily – although as a humanist I don’t like the idea of (almost) anyone going to hell!

  10. wishing you all the best in this new year and happy blogging!

    • Dugutigui says:

      A cat’s New Year dream is mostly a bird! I will try not being like a cat.
      Thank you very much for your good wishes.
      In this new year, may you have a deep understanding of your true value and worth, an absolute faith in your unlimited potential, peace of mind in the midst of uncertainty, the confidence to let go when you need to, acceptance to replace your resistance, gratitude to open your heart, the strength to meet your challenges, great love to replace your fear, forgiveness and compassion for those who offend you, clear sight to see your best and true path, hope to dispel obscurity, the conviction to make your dreams come true, meaningful and rewarding synchronicities, dear friends who truly know and love you, a childlike trust in the benevolence of the universe, the humility to remain teachable, the wisdom to fully embrace your life exactly as it is, the understanding that every soul has its own course to follow, the discernment to recognize your own unique inner voice of truth, and the courage to learn to be still. Happy New Year Eddie!

  11. Excellent article! Any Christian who can relate to snobbery in the church can appreciate this.

Leave a Reply

