a bit of – (en)

A BIT OF
In the mornings I use to say goodbye to my kids like someone going to work. I leave the house, walk around a few blocks, and come back like a person arriving at the office. I create at home, and I have always thought that the place where you sleep or the place you share with your partner should be separate from the place where you work. I have my own pied-a-terre, in the garage, with a view … to the swimming pool. The domestic rituals and -after a while- partners somehow kill your creative work habits.
You’ve all heard of them and read about them. But what is an eccentric person? Is it a form of insanity? Or are we simply free spirits who have the courage to do our own thing? I’ve not clear answer…
This is what I’m thinking about myself right now: I may be bonecrushingly dense, compulsively elaborate, silly, obscene, funny, tragic, pastoral, historical, philosophical, poetic, grindingly dull, inspired, horrific, cold and bloated. I’m beached and blasted…
This is what my ex-girlfriend thinks about myself right … well, yesterday: I’m beached and blasted… and I sucked. Shit, even when we have mind-blowing sex throughout the entire duration of our relationship, a good way to offend your partner is to tell him that it sucked. I understand her anyway. If she doesn’t lash-out in a verbal assault of profanities and low-blows she was just going to explode. You want to -need to- get a few last jabs in at the ex before the door hits in the ass. It’s okay to vent.
excentricos1
Today she just texts me saying: ‘I miss you.’ That means the other person she tried to replace me with failed. I answer, in the most subtle sense, asking for her best friend’s number. I’ll never see her again … after a doozy like that.
One of the greatest boons of having a girlfriend is that fantastic sex is always within arm’s reach. One of the greatest things about having an ex-girlfriend is watching hardcore bucketfuls and getting yourself off is always within your arm’s reach.
I am a full-time loner. I can’t think unless I’m alone with a cigarette and coffee handy. I’ve got to be puffing and sipping. Then I’m okay, simply because I care little about societal pressures against my behaviour. What other people think often does not matter to me and I would like to regularly blow a horn to invite the poor to my home for free food. And when I will die, I want thirteen young maids to follow my coffin to the grave, as well as a bagpiper and a fiddler to play happy music.
If you’re poor and you do crazy, you’re nuts. If you’re rich and do stupid, you’re eccentric … so I decide to worship Jesus (Mitsuo) Matayoshi.
.
A bit of – Dugutigui

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in English, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to a bit of – (en)

  1. 🙂 You’re back!!!! Welcome back to the blogosphere, have a fabulous 2013!!!!
    And know my dear loner friend that you are always welcome for coffee and cigarettes in my loner bar/blog🙂 join the club.
    I enjoyed your post, that’s your spirit!!!! Though I don’t find you excentric at all, only very realistic and mature and… you’re right, that’s how we should be in life.😉

    • Dugutigui says:

      My girl with psychic power let’s hang out sometime and find out, if I ever get parole.🙂
      So many questions, what answers should I choose? Is this shit real or just existential blues?🙂 I’ve been in this field of poppies a long time myself, and I’ve come to find, chomping on a knockwurst, girl, that the only truth in life is right here in this coffee grounds🙂🙂🙂 My spirit? Smoke and mirrors, guys like me! I’m a guy like me!🙂🙂 I have got to catch up with you in your bar…
      10Q!

  2. El Guapo says:

    Sounds like a rough day.
    Well, I’m about to grab the last couple of smokes for the day, so I’ll hang out with you on the pied a terre (porch in my case) and we can share one of those cool manly silences we do so well…

    • Dugutigui says:

      Rough day? Well just as a defense team with dirt and mud on their backs🙂🙂
      Thanks for your invitation. Sounds like inside music. There is nothing wherein our manliness is more honestly garnished than with silence, when every word is like an unnecessary stain on nothingness…

  3. FeyGirl says:

    Ah, you and I both, my friend… Although I didn’t ask for his best-friend’s number. Yet.🙂

    • Dugutigui says:

      In everybody’s life there’s a point of no return. And in a very few cases, a point where you can’t go forward anymore. It’s a point at which everything becomes simple and there is no longer any question of choice, because all you have staked will be lost if you look back. And when we reach that point, all we can do is quietly accept the fact. That’s how we survive…

      • FeyGirl says:

        Very well said. As you say, it’s shockingly simple… And there’s nowhere to go but forward. To those of us who see it. To the parties who don’t, however, it’s another issue entirely.

      • Dugutigui says:

        For the parties who don’t, however, you could always ask for their best-friend’s number🙂🙂
        10Q for the comment!

  4. Coco Rivers says:

    Dugutigui,

    See?! That is why I love you, word for glorious word. Swim against the current it’s the only way!

    “This is what I’m thinking about myself right now: I may be bonecrushingly dense, compulsively elaborate, silly, obscene, funny, tragic, pastoral, historical, philosophical, poetic, grindingly dull, inspired, horrific, cold and bloated. I’m beached and blasted…”

    Peace & Joyous meanderings,

    C.

    P.S. – Beware of ex-girlfriends with haranguing tongues. I am never clear if the Net has made life more or less interesting for the irate ex.😉

    • Dugutigui says:

      Thanks for the comment.
      Here I do what you can with the English language 🙂🙂
      P.S. – I beware of ALL ex-girlfriends, at this point Hahahahahaha!!!!

Leave a Reply

