homesick – morriña – (en/es)


Since water got its freedom,
free betwixt springs lives,
jasmine have cried,
and I don’t figure out
how in your eyes girl only desert there is.
Beautiful was the night
when among the olive trees no one,
nobody saw how I loved you,
how I love you.
The olive sleep today and I can’t sleep.
In the world there won’t be anyone to cure
the wound that left in me your pride,
I don’t grasp that you hurt me
with all all the love you gave me
In the world there won’t be anyone to cure
the wound that left in me your pride,
I don’t grasp that you hurt me
with all all the love you gave me
For when you’d come back,
I thought to sing you old ballads,
those that speak of love… of suffering,
when you come back girl,
I eat you with kisses,
and high we’ll fly
where the clouds go moving slowly.
slowly on your body’s going my mouth,
so slow that certainly the time stops.
In the world there won’t be anyone to cure
the wound that left in me your pride,
I don’t grasp that you hurt me
with all all the love you gave me
In the world there won’t be anyone to cure
the wound that left in me your pride,
I don’t grasp that you hurt me
with all all the love you gave me
Choir
…..
A place I grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to. A name, a word, it’s a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit ever answered to, in the strongest conjuration. Spain.
…..
Un lugar en el que crecí queriendo salir, y envejezco queriendo regresar. Un nombre, una palabra, una muy fuerte, más fuerte que la que nunca el mago conjuró, o contestó nunca el espíritu, en el sortilegio más fuerte. España.
.
Homesick – Morriña – Lyrics translation and text by Dugutigui & video by Concha Buika

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in English, Español, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to homesick – morriña – (en/es)

  1. Proposed solution says:

    Easy. Just go to “Her”

  2. ¡ay D….here you made me sigh… I have listened to the song and the lirics … what feelings…
    You know, even if it’s complicated you will still get back in “her arms”… Love has a sort of crazy magic, we always end up by doing things we thought were complicated/impossible… We always, ALWAYS return towards our true love…😀

  3. This post reminds me of a book by Milan Kundera .. “Ignorance”.

    • Dugutigui says:

      You are right. Same feelings:
      The vaster the amount of time we’ve left behind us, the more irresistible is the voice calling us to return to it. -Milan Kundera, Ignorance
      Thanks for commenting🙂

  4. tomjonze says:

    another big win here. thanks for this. as a “music” guy this made my week.

Leave a Reply

