farewell – (en)

Mr. President, Mr. Speaker, and Distinguished Members of the Blogosphere:
I stand on this rostrum with a sense of deep humility and great pride -humility for those great Bloggers who have stood here before me; pride in the reflection that this forum of literary debate represents human liberty in the purest form yet devised.
Every departure is a tiny death, a poet once said. And true it is, and although my departure may be temporary, and my cooperation within the blogosphere has never been very active, here goes a part of my life. It’s hard to express the scale of my feelings of the WP members, with whom I have now to break ties formed over the years.
But, every end a beginning is, and the WP fest is an unique fest. To see people from all world corners gathering together only to share, made me proud just for simply being a storyteller. It is a joyous and glorious feeling to find that there still exist such spheres of life where this kind of international, multi-cultural communities can spontaneously emerge and flourish.
Gallant women and men, I’m today closing my 3 years of blogging service but you will remain often in my thoughts. I’m leaving you, fighting sons in the Net, and I can report without reservation that you are splendid in every way.
When I joined WordPress, even before the turn of the decade, it was the fulfillment of all of my boyish hopes and dreams, and I still remember the refrain of one of the most popular blog ballads of that day which proclaimed most proudly that “old writers never die; neither they fade away.”
And like the old writer of that ballad, I now close my blogging career, the one of an old writer who tried to do his duty as Someone gave him the light to see that duty.
Good Bye
.
Farewell – Dugutigui

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in English, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to farewell – (en)

  1. clownonfire says:

    Dugutigui,
    I am saddened by this news. Really.
    You will be missed, and I wish you nothing but the second best.
    Le Clown

    • DuGutiGui:
      I too am saddened by what seems to me to be your precipitious departure. I have just started blogging and was very excited to be included in your world. I wish you good luck and hope that perhaps, this is merely a brief respite in your blogging career and that you will return with renewed optimism and vigor. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • DuGuTigui,
      I too am saddened by what seems to me as a fledgling blogger, your precipitious departure. I have very much enjoyed being introduced to your world. I hope that this will merely prove to be a brief respite from the rigors of extreme writing (perhaps fatigue) and that you will return to the blogosphere, with renewed vigor in the future.

      Thanks for your presence.

  2. mskatykins says:

    I’ve hit the Like button only because of the quality of the writing… such a shame you’re leaving when I’ve only just started following you! That sucks, but if you feel it’s come full cycle and is the right thing for you to do, then I wish you luck and happiness in the next portion of your journey!
    Kate🙂

  3. You will miss it and I expect some sporadic shows. Until then!

  4. I will miss you, your postings and your comments on my blog!!!

  5. Say it isn’t so. We will miss your posts, but wish you luck.

  6. Gary Dowell says:

    I’m going to miss your unique passages and the generous support you’ve given me — though I have no doubt you’ll be back…

  7. heartmama says:

    Booo!😉 A time for every season I suppose. You do what you gotta do but I’m bummed for me.

  8. You will be missed, I admit that I didn’t always understand your abstract writing, they definitely force ones mind to think deeper on matters. I appreciate your encouraging words on my blog artisticfamilia. I wish you the best in your journey (life).

  9. FeyGirl says:

    It was wonderful to meet you in this amazing virtual space of ours — I’m sorry I just recently joined it; much love + luck to you on your journey, and may this be only *a bientot*….

  10. Good evening D.
    I did not hit the Like button this time… really that is too sad to read… and even more hard to imagine… whatever is passing through your mind or life know that we really apreciate you…
    There’s one odd word lingering in your post, that is “old”…. why on Earth do you say that? You are younger than me my friend, come on, I am the depressed one, you are the one that brings a smile (or better said laughter) on our faces, the one that gives us subjects for debate and thinking…… you have a great cheerful spirit, a sharp mind, an open prospective in everything… you are a super friend and thoughtful father, but above all a charming man… There’s a big difference between being old and being mature… Biological age has nothing to do with it, the real age is deep inside… You are mature, rafined and absolutely brilliant… I am grateful and honoured for knowing you, I really don’t want to lose a friend like you…
    I sincerely hope that you had just a damn bad day… If anyone offended you here, please forget and forgive, you are loved D. .
    I really wait for you to come back and post, whatever you want…. It is not only my selfish genuine joy of reading you, it’s because I already miss you.
    Ela

  11. Anya says:

    WHY? and I am just getting to know your blog. I have enjoyed what I have read so far. Thank you for your sharing your creative thoughts with us. Good luck!

  12. Maggie O'C says:

    But…but… I just found you! What about me? What about all of us? I’m a new blogger and I didn’t know people could or would just stop blogging. Pout.

    Good luck with it and I also wish you only the second best.
    maggie

  13. I’ve only been here a short time but good luck and farewell. May your new endeavour be a happy one.

  14. Jennifer Worrell says:

    You will be missed:(

  15. Richie says:

    No way, man! I’m sorry to hear about that…

  16. jules1707 says:

    I am sorry to see you are leaving😦 I will miss your posts and your comments…take care and I wish you luck for the future xx

  17. redwheelbarrow1957 says:

    goodbye when there was so little yesterday? i have our dialouge and will repurpose it with your permission.
    the monkey sits in the tree staring into the clearing as the sun sets behind. the shadows creep out into the clearing and there is dancing until there is only dark.

    Bryan

  18. ashmorebondi says:

    My friend, this news not only saddens me but leaves me with a void where inspiration once rested. I have been sitting silently, dormant in a hillside house surrounded by trees reading your blogs with great enjoyment and taking from them inspiration. I am pleased with you reaching out and finding me and I respect your decision to step off the mount after such a faithful devotion. Growth and exploration awake you, friend. I will always review my works by yours before I share them with others.
    thank you,
    ashmore.

  19. Paula says:

    Good luck in your next adventures. Keep writing. Keep dreaming.

  20. Amy Christine says:

    I am new to your blog and saddened that I you will not be posting anything new. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog (and catching up on all the old posts). I wish you luck and hopefully you will decide to come back and write from time to time!

  21. Ah, D… I never really got to know you… I feel sad reading this post, but we must all follow our own path.

    Thanks for everything and good luck my friend. May the skies be clear and the stars keep shining to guide you.

  22. Palestine Rose says:

    Good idea.
    Living on the computer for too long drains the soul and heart.
    Real life, is where it’s at.
    The birds sing poems and the sky caresses, whereas, the computer gives eye strain!
    Peace be upon you – Salaam Alaikum.

  23. I do remember you said recently that you had less time for blogging and other commitments, so perhaps this wasn’t such a surprise. I hope you will leave your blog up so that those of us who only found you recently can wander amongst the earlier posts.

    I wish you the best.

  24. joehoover says:

    Oh, I’ve only just found you! Best of luck out there!

  25. Bárbara says:

    Don’t leave us too long.. we’re waiting for you already.
    Take care.

  26. Silving says:

    It must be something in the air, as you are not the first one in the last period of time that I hear saying that. Maybe it’s just a moment, maybe it’s april’s 5th fool day😀, maybe you need to see how many would miss you, maybe it’s a trick like with the photos of who could be you. Whatever it is, if you’re still here, I will still enjoy your posts, if not, enjoy life without blogging, that is maybe better to be out in reality and beauty.

  27. D,
    I learned about your closing your blog from Ela.
    Tell me it isn’t true (That’s so very Yoko Ono)
    Thank you for your support through your encouraging comments when I was a newbie blogger. I still am. Thanks for nominating me for three awards which I never got around to complying because you said they were the Ponzi kind.
    You have no idea how much wattage of smile your posts put in my face, day after day, comment after comment.
    See, I’m right about you being an enigma. Here today, gone today!
    Now where’s the dislike button?
    I’ll be missing the man who’s been to 55 countries and working in 27 of them.
    Ciao ciao!
    E

  28. cnwood says:

    This is truly most unexpected and regrettable. The other day you dropped into my world and now you have to say goodbye. There are so many past blogs to read on your site, I can only hope that you’ll leave it active for us to enjoy. All the best, my friend.

  29. NC Coot says:

    It is a strange thing to lose a friend one hasn’t met but knows well through the glory of his words. The sadness is different, a different color, but it is sadness I feel, as one always does, at a cleaving, a letting go, the moment the hands part and you let your new friend head down a new path towards something like hope.

  30. My friend!!!

    You’re retiring from the blogosphere?

    You will be missed my friend. What a sad day :@(

  31. Madhu says:

    You will be missed Dugutigui! Wishing you all the best in whatever it is you choose to do next!

  32. escarcega says:

    No es una noticia agradable pues perdemos a un bloger en activo con mucho talento, inteligencia e imaginación, pero sabemos que las cosas son así y debemos aceptar esta partida. Lo injusto sería dejarte ir de este medio sin darte las gracias por tus escritos, comentarios y ejemplo. En ese caso tú ganas y ganas mucho… más bien, todos ganamos. Saludos.

  33. LifebyJocie says:

    I am very saddened by this news. It’s not been too long since I started following you and was enjoying reading what you wrote. As another commenter said you often made one think deeper and reflect more because of your elaborate way of writing. And I truly enjoyed that. Luckily for me there are many posts that you wrote before I found you and I will be backtracking to reading those.
    May God bless you and I wish you the best. I hope you are able to come back soon!

  34. Fay Moore says:

    This is so sad. I was enjoying our verbal dancing across the continents. Your mind was such fun. I hope you can take a breather and rejoin us sometime in the future. There’s a huge sucking sound, the vacuum caused by your departure. I miss you, D.

  35. tinatimebomb says:

    Bummer drag, yoou are so good. you know where to come back to when the writing bug strikes again. May the force be with you. Live long and prosper

  36. I’m not even sure why I ‘liked’ this post, because it’s extremely unfair that you are leaving us! But on the plus side I have 3yrs of backtracked posts to read and uphold the memory of your writing =) Thank you for sharing your posts. Adios amigo y disfrutar de la vida!

  37. I’m sorry when someone stops writing his blog .. but that’s life I understand. I subscribed to your blog but I never could receive by e-mail entries, since the system blocked me almost all my emails and I could only keep 3, none of which is from my area called Blue Oceans. So I can only see in the comments if someone leaves me a message and then reply. Neither had seen the Side Bar to appear now. Well, never say goodbye but see you soon ..!

  38. How sad.Wish you well.If you ever wish to come back,you for sure we we will all be here.Cheers!

  39. misscorrigan says:

    Very strange you wrote this around the same time I penned http://misscorrigan.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/death-of-the-visitor-from-space/
    Strange coincidence.

    • Dugutigui says:

      I can’t see the relationship, but in any case regarding your post:
      The earth has music for those who listen. Nature goes her own way, and all that to us seems an exception is really according to order. Man is the only creature who refuses to be what he is. Great and moving post!

      • misscorrigan says:

        Here’s the connection: First time I wrote about the visitor from another planet, you commented, asking if I was talking about you: http://misscorrigan.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/visitor-from-another-planet/

        It was a little comment, but from then on I associated your icon with my visitor. When I wrote the follow up piece I thought of you and looked you up again to see what you were up to. That’s when I saw the farewell piece which ties to the visitor in my story dying simultaneously.

        Just a little subtle connection I took delight in and wanted to share. Your most recent comment is very interesting-I am intrigued about what makes us human…’The earth has music for those who listen.’ Beautiful.

      • Dugutigui says:

        I see I’ve been out too long…🙂

  40. ane says:

    Why?….. I’m sorry.:(

Leave a Reply

