my last post – (en)

I’m an ego-maniac. I know that because I act like one. All the time. So I entered in Google, and instead of searching your name or hers, I typed my full name. Nothing, but an address in Google Maps. My ego suffers a setback, but it still intrigues me because the address is not mine. A number of a street in Madrid. The city matches. Lagasca Street, no. 36. Even the phone is different (don’t call, please). Now I’m curious. It is rather scary, because where the arrow is pointing I observed a red stain on the asphalt. No, it can’t be blood, but it’s really what it seems. My imagination, I suppose. Anyway. I walk along this street often. My girlfriend works nearby. And my overheated imagination is working overtime. Is it possible that technology has advanced so much that Google Maps can determine in advance where I will be killed?
– No silly -my girlfriend said after explaining her my suspicion. Stop freaking. What happens is at that site there is an antique shop and the owner, coincidences of life, has the same name as you. Your name is not so rare after all.
– That is funny –I answer, not very convinced. Do you know? When going to pick you I will stop at the store to visit that guy.
– And what are you going to tell him?
– That’s. That we have the same name.
– And he will think you are an idiot.
– Why?
– People don’t care if someone has the same name. Normal people do not have your overdose of childishness.
Anyway I’m calm now, mainly because I decided that today I’ll know that person. I get into my best jeans, best jacket and jump into the subway. I get down in Serrano and walk to Lagasca. 2, 4, 6, …… 34, 36 where I clearly can see inside the store myself -shit!- with many more years. And that I is also looking at me. And he smiles. That’s him, I dreamed with him so many times, I perfectly recognize him. My pulse quickens. I am very nervous now. I turn and look around. Fuck! A hooded man with a knife grabs me from behind and cuts my jugular. The other me inside the store, still smiling. Grimly now. Before dying I see my blood forming a red stain on the asphalt. Exactly in the same place marked on Google Maps. Coincidences of life, my last thought.
.
My last post – Rafael Fernández Ruiz & Dugutigui

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in English, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to my last post – (en)

  1. Paula says:

    I think it’s interesting to meet people with the same name or same birthday and then compare notes. Nice story…

  2. FeyGirl says:

    Love it! And: “Normal people do not have your overdose of childishness.” Just fantastic. Love this phrase + observation (as it’s likewise been applied to myself)… Without such creatures the world would be a very sad and boring place indeed, n’est-ce pas? Keep imagining, it makes life interesting.🙂

  3. Silving says:

    I wouldn’t want to meet anybody that has the same name as me.It’s annoying enough that I can’t be the only one wearing that name😀

  4. Yes, we meet with ourselves, past – present – future every moment. It’s only a question of awareness, time is a relative thing….
    Tres belle lecture D., je te souhaite une belle journee.🙂

  5. Fay Moore says:

    I am in mourning. I will wear black for a year.

    • Dugutigui says:

      Hahahaha, not for me I hope… the tree from which they will make my coffin has not been planted yet …
      … and I will not pass by Lagasca in the near future🙂

  6. i found someone on facebook with the same name as me and sent her a message to connect just because. no reply from my namesake. oh well.

  7. I remember when Google Maps used to be fun, now it is predicting our deaths. Soon we will be able to place that little orange guy on the map and watch ourselves be killed. And Google promised not to be evil.

    • Dugutigui says:

      You are right… times are changing at full speed… not clear for good or evil… Google for evil, that’s for sure🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  8. Hello D,
    I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.
    I would be honoured if you will accept it.
    Follow the link for details:
    http://memyselfandela.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/
    Good night / Buenas noches y dulces sueños, dondequiera que estés.
    Ela.🙂

    • Dugutigui says:

      That’s a problem with friends … you have to politely accept bizarre compromises to keep things going🙂

      Okidoki, fun apart, I accept whatever you request from me and I love you too🙂
      And now, what a hell should I do in this estrange party?
      I mean:
      Should I make a post?
      Could yours be included in my nominations?
      Are they giving away any car?
      Should I be polite?🙂

      • Hahahahahaha🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂
        Well, take a look at my post, follow the link. Copy the image of the award on your blog. Make a similar post like mine talking about you and the blogs you nominate.
        Skip the part with thanking me, that is crap…
        MAKE 7 PEOPLE HAPPY, you sure have seen 7 blogs you like.
        I have already nominated Manipal.
        And no, don’t nominate me again, it is supposed to make others and others happy…
        You don’t need to be polite with me, but with others PLEASE DO!🙂🙂🙂
        P.S.: No car included, only some love…🙂🙂🙂

      • Dugutigui says:

        Yessir!🙂🙂🙂🙂

      • Dugutigui says:

        It seems like a f… Ponzi scheme🙂

      • That’s what it is … Hahahaha… You are killing me with your honesty!!!!!
        But since the reward is a spiritual one, the scheme is a good one!!!!!🙂🙂🙂

      • Dugutigui says:

        as said, I love you too…

  9. dborys says:

    You are so funny. Great post. But I think your Google must not be working correctly, because when I Google Rafael Fernandez Ruiz I get lots of other links, including your LinkedIn and Facebook pages. On the other hand, it’s much funnier to think your post is true so I kind of wish I hadn’t tested the waters. 🙂

    • Dugutigui says:

      Rafael Fernandez Ruiz, a friend of mine somehow and obliged collaborator in this story as you could see at the button, is the fictional name we used for the purposes of the storyline; you do not have to be so picky…🙂
      On other hand and as a necessary disclaimer (thanks to you sis!) “No Rafaels were harmed during the making of this post…”, 🙂 and waters are always to be tested.
      In fact this is the soul of this blog: to test the waters. And not the drinking water precisely, but the ones that could be described as turbulent: You know, nothing in the world is more flexible and yielding than water. Yet when it attacks the firm and the strong, none can withstand it, because they have no way to change it. So the flexible overcome the adamant, the yielding overcome the forceful. Everyone knows this, but no one can do it…
      Thanks a lot for coming around and I hope to see you again and don’t take all that funk above personally…🙂 Peace and love and I’m taking the Ford… !

  10. PerceivingJocie says:

    I LOVED this. I was not expecting the end. And I was confused at first as to whether you had actually used your real name haha I just loved the ending. At first I thought that you would get a chance to converse with the older you, but then the twist happened. I guess it was your ghost carrying out your wish for your last post to be written =P

    • Dugutigui says:

      I love you love it!
      And it is funny you know… here in the blogosphere everybody loves everybody… even myself a sociopath by conviction…🙂 and it’s true: I love you love it! But funny…

      And yes that was my intention, to converse with that creepy old me; but destiny or Google evil, or both played against my actual twisted me…
      Disclaimer: “No Rafaels were harmed during the making of this post…”
      Thanks for coming…!

  11. Wanderer says:

    Awesome! Very well written sir.

Leave a Reply

