my last post – rafael fernández ruiz – (en/es)

Since I’m an egomaniac, today I got to Goggle my full name (Rafael Fernández Ruiz). And what I got was an address in Google Maps. A number somewhere in Lagasca St. (Madrid) by which I curiously pass very often: my girlfriend works nearby.
Not only that, but where the arrow supposes “I’m” it’s pointing a patch of blood on the road, close to the sidewalk. So I thought, matter-of-fact, technology is like that, its progress is amazing, and this is the place I will die one day.
Someday I’d go to pick up my girl from work and then a troll would show up, the mad Motivan or a mugger, and got me killed, mercilessly, right there.
– No Rafa – says my girlfriend on the phone, after telling her my suspicions- Stop freaking as usual. What happens is on that street there’s an antique shop. And the owner of this antique shop is named, coincidences of life, just like you. Your name isn’t so rare. Closely check the link’s data at Google Maps and think.
– Funny! -I answer her- Well then, when I’m going o to pick you up I’ll stop by the shop and tell it to the owner.
– What would you tell him?
– That we got the same name!
– He’ll think you’re a jerk. People won’t care you got the same name. They don’t have your dose of infantilism.
Anyway, I got unsettled because at 8 pm I was going to meet someone named like me. I got in my best jeans and put my best coat and took the tube. I dropped at Serrano St and walked up Lagasca St, 36 where I saw, inside the shop, an older myself. And that myself looked at me. It was him, again. Don’t you recall him? I’ve never forgotten him. Click here to know whom I’m talking about. That got on my nerves and I looked around. Damn. A man with a hood and a knife grabbed me from behind and sliced my neck. That other Rafael Fernández Ruiz, inside the antique shop, was laughing. And before I died I saw my blood forming a puddle, right in the exact spot marked in Google Maps.
My Last Post – Rafael Fernández Ruiz (Fuerteventura)
.
About Rafa Fernández in his own words:
Being a underground degenerated writer in Internet. I’m not sure who I am, if a fictional character or just myself. My dream was, and is, being a writer: I wrote steadily: short stories, poems, even a novel. Used to show my writing to my dear friends and all them told me that I wrote very well, no doubt, I was a genius. But …
With those of others:
Ex-ezcritor, former columnist for 20minutos, director and writer of video series that does not buy any producer, ex-reCEOcionist of a hotel, a writer on his website “my.head.com“. But above all a great story teller, do not fail to follow him, is worthwhile.
Como soy un egocéntrico, hoy me dio por escribir mi nombre y apellidos (Rafael Fernández Ruiz) en el Google. Y lo que me salió fue una dirección en Google Maps. Un número en un lugar de la calle Lagasca (Madrid) por donde extrañamente paso muy frecuentemente: mi novia trabaja cerca.
No sólo eso, sino que la flecha donde se supone “estoy” señala un charco de sangre que está en la carretera, cerca de la acera. Así que pensé, como es normal, que la tecnología es así, que avanza que es una maravilla y ese será el lugar donde muera algún día. Algún día iré a buscar a mi chica al trabajo y entonces aparecerá un troll, la loca del motivan o un atracador y me matará, sin piedad, ahí mismo.
-No Rafa -contesta mi novia por teléfono, tras contarle mis sospechas- Deja de flipar como siempre. Lo que pasa es que en esa calle hay una tienda de antigüedades. Y el dueño de esa tienda de antigüedades se llama, por casualidades de la vida, igual que tú. Que tu nombre completo tampoco es tan raro. Mira bien los datos del link del Google Maps y razona.
-¡Qué risa! -le contesto- Pues luego, cuando vaya a buscarte me paso por la tienda esa y se lo digo al dueño.
-¿Qué le vas a decir?
-¡Que me llamo igual que él!
-Va a pensar que eres un gilipollas. A la gente le da igual que te llames como él. No tienen tu dosis de infantilismo.
De todas maneras me puse nervioso porque a las 8 de la tarde iba a conocer a alguien que se llamaba igual que yo. Me vestí con mis mejores pantalones y mi mejor chaqueta y tomé el metro. Me bajé en la parada de Serrano y llegué hasta la calle Lagasca, 36 donde vi, dentro de la tienda a mi mismo, más mayor. Y el yo mismo me miró. Era él, otra vez. ¿No le recordáis?  Yo jamás le he olvidado. Pinchad aquí para saber de quién hablo. Me puse muy nervioso y miré a mi alrededor. Maldita sea.  Un hombre con una capucha y una navaja me agarró por la espalda y me rebanó el cuello. El otro Rafael Fernández Ruiz, desde la tienda de antigüedades, reía. Antes de morir vi mi sangre formar un charco, justo en el lugar exacto que señala el Google Maps.
Mi Último Post – Rafael Fernández Ruiz (Fuerteventura)
.
Acerca de Rafa Fernández y con sus propias palabras:
Ser escritor underground degenerado en Internet. No sé muy bien quien soy: si un personaje de ficción o yo mismo. Mi sueño era, y es, ser escritor: escribía sin parar: relatos, poemas, incluso una novela. Daba a leer mis escritos a mis queridos amigos y todos me decían que escribía muy bien que, sin duda, yo era un genio. Pero…
Con las de otros:
Ex-ezcritor, ex-columnista del 20minutos, director y escritor de series en vídeo que no compra ninguna productora, ex-receocionista de un hotel, escritor en su web “mi cabeza.com“. Pero sobre todas las cosas un gran narrador, no dejéis de seguirle por que merece la pena.
.
Mi Último Post – Traducido y publicado por Dugutigui con permiso de Rafael Fernández Ruiz

.

Otras historias relacionadas que tal vez te pueden interesar:

ooo

About Dugutigui

In the “Diula” language in Mali, the term « dugutigui » (chief of the village), literally translated, means: «owner of the village»; «dugu» means village and «tigui», owner. Probably the term is the result of the contraction of «dugu kuntigui» (literally: chief of the village).
This entry was posted in English, Español, Humor, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to my last post – rafael fernández ruiz – (en/es)

  1. ezcritor says:

    Muchas gracias por la traducción. Es un bonito detalle que me ha agradado mucho.
    Un abrazo y mi blog es tu blog.

    • Dugutigui says:

      Gracias por tu amabilidad al ceder uno de tus textos a este blog. Ha sido un placer hacer la traducción. Tu blog, recién descubierto por desgracia, es un lugar para pasarse las horas leyendo, incluso sin el menor interés en los temas. Es la fuerza de tu narrativa lo que más me asombra y lo que hace atractiva y envidiable tu obra.
      Un saludo desde esta también tu casa.

  2. Coco Rivers says:

    The mind is a dark and scary place. I sometimes wonder which is scarier, the cacaphony of the cranium or reality. Right about now, you need to get out of your mind🙂. I do like the last scene as it is a mental projection of your digital self. Would you take the red pill or the blue pill? lol

    • Dugutigui says:

      Rafa Fernández -ezcritor- is an excellent storyteller and a well known screenwriter and underground Internet “degenerated” writer. I asked him for permission to translate one of his texts and that’s what’s up there. Above short tale is certainly one of the softest he has…, but regardless of the topic, what I like most about Rafa is his strong and modern narrative, something difficult to translate into another language … somehow

Leave a Reply

